The Helper

I guess I just wrote this 99-word story for a writing challenge. So I’ll just leave this here…


The Helper


 

It hadn’t always been blue, Ellie was sure of it.

She held the crumpled, sopping shirt by the cuff, trying to remember him wearing it. Strong arms wrapped around her, face pressed into the freshly ironed cotton. Clean, crisp… and white. Definitely white.

Tears welled.

I was helping.

The clock showed 5.17pm, and he emerged through the front door.

One look at his distraught daughter, the dappled mess of his shirt. One tiny sob of apology.

“Mum is sick, so I…”

He lifted her gently.

“You know, I think like it better like this.”

Leave a Reply

